Posted by: mwfjr | November 17, 2017

CROSS TRAINING CONFUSION

I’d like to say I have a system, a regimen to which one could adhere, like a Wisteria vine on an old brick farmhouse. But down here in Florida, approaching the dry season, there are too many variables that obstruct fitness consistency. Sure, the weather has been recently great, borderline spectacular, when you compare it to our back to back Hurricanes and the Northeast snow storms. There really has been no climate reason not to be out there every day, sun block and all. However, being now a senior jock, I have some physical obstacles with which to contend.
Lets start with the neurological, the ADD that makes it difficult to do anything on a regular basis, as in, “who took my bike helmet?” The answer is, nobody took my helmet. It’s just when you’re disorganized and NEVER put something down in the same place twice in a row, maybe you won’t go biking that morning. That doesn’t mean Monday’s a wash, it just means you will go in the pool today, as long as nobody has misplaced my aqua-jogger or face mask. I’m grateful the recumbent trike allows me to venture out as often as I do. My knee aches after, but I have a Velcro ice wrap that brings down the swelling in a hurry.
Where was I? Oh yes, cross training confusion, in November, in Southwest Florida, that conundrum. I mentioned swimming, needing to get there early, before the floaters show up to monopolize the space and the conversation. That shouldn’t be a problem because the sun doesn’t get over our building until close to ten A.M. But full-proof it ain’t, because the pool guy is also an early riser, arriving just in time to interrupt or abort my aquatic aspirations. When he adds the chemicals I am done. Because of the noodlers and their sun screen, he has to scrub the top tiles more than once a week. I know he has a job to do and he does it religiously, with a dedication and precision I would kill to replicate, but for that neurological condition I mentioned, the one that prevents me from setting an alarm to a time that would circumvent this frustration because I refuse to swim in soapsuds.
Moving on, there is the treadmill in the fitness room, the place I can walk an uncomplicated mile at 2.0 and 3.5 elevation. Because of my left-side weakness, and a left leg that is one half inch shorter than the right, I need the stability of the hand grips to sustain a cadence and stride that doesn’t appear as if Lurch is approaching Halloween. That’s thirty minutes, the limit we are supposed to monopolize a fitness-room machine. And the only time I can count on access and some privacy, is late in the afternoon when most residents are looking for their happy-hour, two-for-one coupons. It’s certainly doable, as long as my life partner isn’t hankering for an early supper because she nibbled at breakfast and skipped lunch.
Finally, there is tennis, the reason I began to work toward strength and mobility and started this blog, yea those many years ago. Twenty years, from rookie to racked, from quick to quixotic, time to shift gears and vary my routine to cover for an aging process that has made life more complicated. Right now, this season just beginning, I have yet to hit with the men. Last year, a helpful player, during the men’s round robin suggested kindly that I might enjoy pickle-ball more than flaying clumsily three mornings a week on the artificial clay. Currently, I’m staying with mixed-doubles, hoping to compete with some of the older ladies still going out there. Last week someone told me Belinda was ninety. There were a few balls she couldn’t reach, her speed constraints right up my alley. But I haven’t lost hope that the cross training could be my ticket back to respectable mediocrity. I have to remember that three months ago I was in the local hospital with double pneumonia. In the meantime, I’ll try to decide what routine is scheduled for tomorrow and who stole the keys to my bike lock.


Responses

  1. Marty–

    Well described. With the several exercise options you have available, it sounds like your ADD impels you into a perfect cross training regimen. When one door closes, another opens.

    Susan is back from her week of warm water yoga instructor’s training. She had a great time, met a lot of wonderful fellow students. Now she must complete a take home test, then take CPR, and then I think she may be all set.

    Cold and windy here today. But Thoreau went out in all weather conditions, so I imagine I will do the same at some point. Probably to the wooded preserve where I will be protected from the wind.

    Today is the last Roxbury Farm pickup, so good-bye to tat tsoi and kale. We do have a winter share, so we’ll have three dates when we’ll get a box of root vegetables – to keep us vibrant through the winter.

    Hope to see Dave and Connor this week-end. Ariel will be off to visit friends in D.C.

    On the political front, I’ve joined the local chapter of the Citizens Climate Lobby. We advocate for federal (and more recently on the state level) legislation that will create a “carbon fee and dividend” (basically, taxing carbon at its source and then returning the money in the form of a dividend to all households). Check it out on the web. Vancouver (B.C.) has had such a program for several years now, and I believe all of Canada is heading that way. It’s a way to make renewable energy sources more competitive while “making the polluters pay.” See my recent letter to the Albany Times-Union on this subject – https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwjS4cfg6sXXAhUBxoMKHT_1CMgQFggmMAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.timesunion.com%2Fopinion%2Farticle%2FLetter-Carbon-fee-would-help-reverse-climate-12350221.php&usg=AOvVaw2vM0u2Q8cquCGtlG0pLuFd

    There is also a Climate Solutions Caucus in the House that’s headed up by Rep. Carlos Curbelo (see below). It’s bipartisan and now has 60 congresspersons. You can join only if you bring in a counterpart from the other party, so there are now 30 republicans and 30 dems. It hasn’t accomplished a whole lot yet, but at least there are 30 Republicans who are not climate deniers. My Republican MOC actually joined this year.

    The Climate Solutions Caucus was formed in February of 2016 by Rep. Carlos Curbelo (R-FL) and Rep. Ted Deutch (D-FL), both concerned about sea level rise affecting their districts’ economies and their constituents’ way of life. Membership has exploded this year, with the caucus tripling its ranks since January.

    There’s also a (to me) fascinating talk by Paul Hawken on youtube (https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=2&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwj_-reI6MXXAhVG44MKHa_ZC6gQtwIILDAB&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DKYvKv0lM-_A&usg=AOvVaw1raH_dw9hnFqzW6ffKJvE_) if you’re interested. It’s about Project Drawdown, a comprehensive plan to reverse global warming (with 100 component solutions, some surprising).

    So, there you have it, my soapbox of the day. Got to save the planet, right?

    much love to you and Gretchen, Ed


Leave a comment

Categories